Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Matthias Werner via Compfight

After a busy school year, each summer I jot down a humongous list of things to do and I never get it all accomplished. It makes me feel like I failed even though many of the items listed won’t and don’t make a real difference in my life.  So, this summer, I decided to limit and simultaneously broaden my self-expectations by creating a shorter list, but one that will positively impact my life instead of a meaningless checklist of chores that will just need to be done again and again anyway.

I have set three goals for myself to accomplish this summer and as a bonus (I love a bonus), I’ve chosen kindness as my summer goal theme. Ever since I read “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio, I try to “choose kind” in everything I do.  It’s a great deal harder than it sounds, I don’t always manage it, but what worth doing isn’t a bit of a challenge? My goals reflect ways to be kind to myself which is frequently the hardest thing to do.  

Goal #1 Write regularly (Blogging)

Goal #2  Eat healthier

Goal #3 Exercise regularly

Next time, I’ll frame my first goad using the SMART goal framework!