A few days ago I stated my three summer goals and included kindness as a theme.  Today I’m framing the goals using the acronym SMART.  I have to have a plan to be successful.  After all, home builders don’t just grab some hammers and wood and whip up a house, do they?  A surgeon doesn’t just grab a few nurses, some scalpels and bright lights to remove a patient’s appendix, either.  Okay, so writing, eating healthy, and exercising aren’t as involved as building a house or performing surgery, but having a plan is important to achieving goals.  I like SMART goals because they make the plan very clear and easy to follow.

Goal #1 Write regularly (Blogging)

Specific: Write blog posts 

Measurable: Post 4-7 times a week

Attainable:  I have at least 30-60 minutes a day to write.  I will use Two Writing Teachers as a “prompts” and my own experiences throughout the summer.

Relevant (results oriented):  Writing regularly is important as a teacher of writing.

Time bound: Start date: 6/20/14  End date: 8/19/14 (I plan to continue blogging during the school year, as well.)

Next time: Goal #2  Eat healthier