Balance is my one little word. Currently the scales are tipped. Work life outweighs private life. My life is as off balance as a hippo on a highwire. Too much of my time is spent physically idle, curled up in my big comfy chair grading, planning lessons, reading books and blogs on teaching, adding pins to my teaching board, and checking Twitter and Facebook for ideas.  Instead, I should be burning calories on long vigorous walks, perfecting my yoga asana or training for an upcoming 5k race.  It’s time to add weight to the scales by putting exercise back into my life creating the perfect balance between my health and my passion for teaching.

Thanks to Ali Edwards,  One Little Word by Ali Edwards and my colleagues, Michelle Haseltine, Crayons and Pencils ,and Martha Rombach, Mrs. Rombach Reads,  for the inspiration for this venture!  

While the official name is “One Little Word”, for some reason my wacky brain changed One to Own.  I even had a bracelet made with charms announcing this year’s word and the erroneous, “Own Little Word.”  

Own Little Word

SK Beads and Charms

It’s a happy snafu! My students and I have all chosen a word to guide and inspire us throughout 2015.  They are, in fact, our own little words.

Be on the look out for more “One Little Word” posts from my students.  Links to their blogs are on the right!

Eagle Wordsmiths: If you have finished proofreading and editing, please post your paragraphs.  I’ll check the blog throughout this 4th snow day of the year to publish your posts!  Happy blogging!